• 0
  • Items

Ph: 02 9457 1100

Woman on the Edge of Time: The classic feminist dystopian novel for fans of The Handmaid's Tale

Buy Woman on the Edge of Time: The classic feminist dystopian novel for fans of The Handmaid's Tale from BooksDirect
Paperback
Published: August 2019
For Ages:
Sale Price:
$19.99
Temporarily out of stock Temporarily out of stock
Quantity: Login to Purchase
Author: Marge Piercy
BIC Subject: Science fiction
 
Published: 06-Aug-2019
Format: Paperback, 432 pages, 0x0mm
ISBN: 9781529100570
Stock Code: 9100570
Product Description
 
Often compared to Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and Naomi Alderman's The Power - Woman on the Edge of Time has been hailed as a classic of speculative science fiction. Disturbing and forward thinking, Marge Piercy's remarkable novel will speak to a new generation of readers.

After being unjustly committed to a mental institution, Connie Ramos is contacted by an envoy from the year 2137, who shows her a utopian future of sexual and racial equality and environmental harmony.

But Connie also bears witness to another potential outcome- a dystopian society of grotesque exploitation. One will become our world. And Connie herself may strike the decisive blow...

For fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE, this is a reissue of a much loved feminist classic.

'She is a serious writer who deserves the sort of considered attention which, too often, she does not get...' MARGARET ATWOOD

Often compared to Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and Naomi Alderman's The Power - Woman on the Edge of Time has been hailed as a classic of speculative science fiction. Disturbing and forward thinking, Marge Piercy's remarkable novel will speak to a new generation of readers.

After being unjustly committed to a mental institution, Connie Ramos is contacted by an envoy from the year 2137, who shows her a utopian future of sexual and racial equality and environmental harmony.

But Connie also bears witness to another potential outcome- a dystopian society of grotesque exploitation. One will become our world. And Connie herself may strike the decisive blow...

For fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE, this is a reissue of a much loved feminist classic.

'She is a serious writer who deserves the sort of considered attention which, too often, she does not get...' MARGARET ATWOOD


Marge Piercy is the author of seventeen novels including the classic Woman on the Edge of Time; nineteen volumes of poetry; four non-fiction books as well as her critically acclaimed memoir. Born in Detroit, educated at the University of Michigan, and the recipient of four honorary doctorates, she has been a key player in many of the major progressive political battles of our time, including the anti-Vietnam war and the women's movement, and more recently an active participant in the resistance to the war in Iraq.

Praised as one of the few American writers who are accomplished poets as well as novelists - Piercy is one of the country's bestselling poets - she is also the master of many genres- historical novels, science fiction (for which she won the Arthur C. Clarke Award for Best Science Fiction in the United Kingdom), novels of social comment and contemporary entertainments. She has taught, lectured, and performed her work at well over 400 universities around the world.
 

NEW RELEASES

Australia's Biggest School Library Specialist